Grand River Mills Restoration
The Old Mill in Caledonia underwent a regeneration.
The Mill was built in 1846, the last timber frame water-powered mill along the Grand River in Ontario. Until 1892, the mill was used for milling flour. In 1979, the mill was put up for demolition.
A committee of the Golden Horsehoe Antique Society saved the mill from demolition by having it designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.
The committee put up a new roof and re-painted the building in 1979. The Caledonia Old Mill Corp. was formed by community members to take over the restoration of the mill shortly after.
The committee could not restore the building as the building structure was deemed unsafe, leaning towards the river and some of the walls were collapsing.
So, in 2017, the Mill was sold for $1 to Riverside Properties.
The old Mill was taken down to be rebuilt in almost identical shape and size and using many components of the old beams, Mill parts etc. to showcase some heritage materials and original structure.
The rebuilding was done by Schilthuis Construction Management Co. (www.schithuis.com/case-study/caledonia-mill)
John and his crew were lucky to have landed the gutter and siding installation of this historic project.
The Revivaline crew used Fraser wood siding (Evolution series) with its unique-Lok technology that gave the siding a clean and crisp joint line while virtually eliminating any appearance of face nails.
They then installed new steel soffit and fascia, hung Lindab Rainline Gutters in Anthracite and stepped back to enjoy the finished design of the project.
The mill is now the home of four storeys of state of the art office spaces mixed in with some of the original machinery and other historical artifacts.
Professional installation and do-it-yourself packages available.
Find a Lindab Installer in your community.Get a free estimate